My Father’s Birthday party

Today is my dad’s 55th birthday! Selamat Hari Jadi, Ayah! Both my mum and dad decided to throw a birthday party, to signify the end of an era and the start of a new journey in life. They decided to have two parties instead of one simply because,

a) my house wasn’t big enough to fit all the families from both my dad’s and my mum’s side
b) we lacked the basic manpower to do all the cooking and serving
c) and we won’t be able to meet and layan every single one of them properly if too many people came all at once

Therefore the Part 1 and 2 (Stay tuned for Part 2 tomorrow!) There is no Part 2. I was too lazy to update and there wasn’t much difference in the choice of food served. Heeheehee..

Anyway, here are some of the most delicious food that my mum cooked today!

Specially bought from Geylang Serai, even though I have not sampled a lot of egg tarts in my life, I personally felt this was simply tantalising! The crust is soft and crumbly, and the egg center is cooked to perfection, with the right amount of egg and sweetness. I simply love this egg tart! Felt extremely sad since my mum didn’t buy a lot of it back home.

Another instant delight, these were specially steamed at home over the stove. Extremely spicy and totally scrumptuous, this is a definite must-try for all meat lovers out there! It was rather difficult to keep the buns warm all the time so to add a certain qualifier, the buns are only good if they are eaten hot!

Sorry for the bad lighting! One of the more familiar types of Malay kuih, these epok-epok (or usually known as curry puffs) were highly sought after, with many asking my mum for the recipe! But guess what? These were all instant epok-epok direct from a brand bought in Seng Song Supermarket! The crust was crispy on the outside. When broken into half, you can literally see the steam rising up from the delicious potato filling, beckoning you to take a bite.

Hotdog, fishball and chicken nuggets – all my favourite things! Especially the fish balls with its crispy skin which hides its tender juicy flesh underneath! I remember the time in PPIS when I would always dream of buying the 50 cent fishballs from the Malay auntie which I thought was the best fishball ever to be cooked! These fishballs managed to mimic the same nostalgic sensations of times past, and I simply yearn to try those fishballs once more. I wonder whether the PPIS compound even exists now. Sigh…

Soaked in my mum’s special curry rempah, these heavenly crispy pieces of chicken were lovingly deep fried to perfection and served hot off the frier! A definite all time favourite no matter what the occasion!

Specially ordered from Geylang Serai, these Satay were up to standard, slightly burnt yet extremely juicy and tender, melting in your mouth upon entry. Though my sis and I thought that the kuah satay was a tad bit too sweet.

Lontong, cucmber and onions – these are the sides which accompany the Satay and the Kuah. So add the crunchiness of the cucumber, the “hotness” of the onions, the soft solid texture of the lontong with the soft and juicy satay and thick viscous kuah satay, its truly a multi-sensory orgasmic experience!

Stay tuned for more tomorrow! Phew, finally all of them had left! Heeheeheeheehee! More food for me!

Leave a Reply

