Hari Raya Delectables: Part 6

Just came back from visiting seven houses today! Extremely tired but contented. First up we have the first Hari Raya meal I had when I came to my grandmother’s house. As you can see in the photo, I had cucumber, lontong, satay ayam and daging (chicken and beef), all topped with delicious sambal goreng ayam which is a personal creation of my aunt’s. Simply tantalising! All that satay… That was what I was waiting for the whole of Ramadhan! My grandmother’s satay is simply the best! The rich peanut sauce flirtatiously blending with the satay ayam and daging and soft sticky lontong… It was simply the best! And the sambal goreng ayam deserves special mention:

My aunt’s special sambal goreng ayam, upclose and personal! A new creation, this unique sambal goreng is unlike any other. While the normal sambal goreng would have daging, kacang panjang (long beans), tempe (fermeted soya beans) and small prawns, this one only has chicken in it, in all its different derivatives. And its very hot and spicy and simply blows your mind! I guess to most hard core traditionalists, this new version cannot be compared to the original, due to its overly processed nature (sausages etc). But to me, its one of the better Malay dishes that I have ever eaten!

This was my last meal at my aunt’s house. It was a little disappointing but still quite delicious as well! As you can see, I had ketupat and satay, with lauk lemak ayam, ayam masak merah, the original sambal goreng and crispy fried chicken wing on top! As I have said before, its only during hari raya that lontong, which is quite similar to ketupat, is mixed up with every single dish imaginable within the Malay cuisine, like my family’s lontong kari ayam! One of my personal favourite Malay dishes, besides satay and the sambal goreng ayam, is of course lauk lemak ayam! Its simply the most scrumptious and the most sinful. The name says it all: Lemak which literally means fats in English. But Its simply great feeling to indulge once in a while.

Last but not least, as I promised earlier, I would showcase my aunt’s delicious chocolate chip cookie, which in my opinion is one of the best around the world, or at least among the households I have been to in Singapore. Finely chopped nuts and chocolate chips, all held together by a special cookie dough which is crispy yet soft at the same time. It just connects with me on an emotional level that I simply cannot comprehend. Have you ever had that feeling before with a particular food or dish? Sigh. Wished I could finish the whole bottle. This picture was taken after I had eaten my fill (after eating so much at my grandmother’s house).

Sigh. Had a great Hari Raya first day! Can’t wait for the weekend to begin, as I continue to sample more delicious food around Singapore!

3 Responses to Hari Raya Delectables: Part 6

  1. dolyah says:

    salam aidilfitri to you! waduhh gambar makanan enak2 sekali…..!!

  2. andee says:

    hmm that choc chip container and table cloth look familiar, haha. did u gain weight after hari raya?

  3. Libertas says:

    I haven’t checked! Hope not. I must start running again to gain all those extra kilos! Hahahaha.. And yes, I had to literally sneak a little to take the photo without having to answer too many questions.

Leave a Reply

